In the main hall of The Grange today (the first home of the AGO), visitors can appreciate the elegant lines of the staircase that sweeps up to the second floor. However, this staircase was not original to The Grange when it was built in 1817 for the family of prominent local lawyer and politician D’Arcy Boulton.
In 1885, Harriette Bolton Smith and Goldwin Smith replaced the Georgian style staircase in their main hall, with a heavy, angular Victorian staircase. By the late 1960s, The Grange was restored to how it would have looked in the 1830s. The restoration architect replaced the Victorian staircase with the current free-standing style, reinforced with steel and decorative brass balusters.
More information on The Grange can be found here.